To Register As Versioned with the option to move edits to base – or Not?


I’m sure you’ve seen this option when choosing to “Register As Versioned”, and if you have wondered…”What does this option do?”…let me explain.

Checking this option, will still create the (A)dds and (D)eletes tables to track versioned edit operations performed on the data; however, edit operations that are saved to the Default version, or merged from other child versions, are immediately saved to the business table (rather than stored in the A and D tables).

Thus, the advantage is that edits are stored in the A and D tables while editing; giving you the undo and redo ability while editing in ArcMap – but then pushing the edits into the business table, upon Save.

This is great for 3rd party applications that query the business table and requires edits through ArcGIS to be seen immediately.

However there are some limitations:
• Available for simple features only – those that do not participate in a topology, network dataset, or geometric network.
• Cannot specify this option if the data you are planning to register as versioned, will be participating in geodatabase replication; or/and the data has geodatabase archiving enabled.

If you decide to make use of this option:
For 10.0:
• In the Catalog tree, right-click the feature dataset, stand-alone feature class, or table.
• Click Register As Versioned to open the ‘Register As Versioned’ dialog box.
• Check ‘Register the selected objects with the option to move edits to base.

For 10.1:
• In the Catalog tree, right-click the feature dataset, stand-alone feature class, or table.
• Click Manage, and then click Register As Versioned to open the ‘Register As Versioned’ dialog box.
• Check ‘Register the selected objects with the option to move edits to base.

registerAsVerionedMoveToBase

Tania T.

Got something to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s